Senthil Kumar Mani

5 Comments »

  1. Hi Setnthil,

    Your article is very informative. Is the cusom advanced search webpart you refer to publically available?

    Thanks
    Amir

    Comment by amirbkhan | February 9, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Amir,

      It’s not the publicly available web part. This is just the approach how you can implement this on your own.

      Comment by Senthil Kumar Mani | March 19, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi Setnthil, Love your article and I have been trying to figure out how to use Multiple selections.

    Here is my questions were do you place the <!—->

    I have tried to replace another field however I must be doing something wrong.

    All
    Critical Notices
    Education Resources
    Product Documentation
    Related Documentation
    Release Communications
    Schedules & Calendars
    Services & Support
        

    What I need to know is where do I place the code so it will return multiples in my drop down?

    Thanks,
    JD

    Comment by jdsamdog | June 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. I guess the site pulls some text out. What I want to know is where do I place this code to get the multiple to work? ASB_ResType_Query

    Any help or suggestions would be great.

    Comment by jdsamdog | June 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. Senthil.

    This is a great article and for people like me hacking around in the Advanced Search Box web part it is invaluable. One thing I am stuck on however is returning results from 3 multivalued properties. I see your last paragraph :

    …”The limitation with using the ASB_PS_… attributes are, the multiple values for the same property is not supported by single occurrence of this property. Hence, either it needs to be a different occurrence of the ASB_PS_… attribute with the same property filter name. The alternate way of achieving the support for multiple values is using the ASB_ResType_Query to form the whole property query.”.

    I not exactly sure what you mean here but let’s just say it it sounds negative…which is what I am worried about.

    Let me explain what I am trying to do. I want to search on the samee string across 3 different Multivalued properties. I have got as far as this:

    (ignore the anchor tag – that is a work in progress)

    I get as far as this, which is reported in the ULS logs:

    Full text sql query id: 0xb700187, text: SELECT AccountName, UserProfile_GUID, PreferredName, JobTitle, Department, WorkPhone, CurrentOffice, AboutMe, PictureURL, WorkEmail, WebSite, Path, HitHighlightedSummary, HitHighlightedProperties, Responsibility, Skills, SipAddress, MobilePhone, AlternatePhone, Extension, FirstName, EmployeeNumber, Muli1, Muli2, Muli3 from scope() where (“scope” = ‘People’) And (Muli1 like ‘%Electricity%’ Or Muli2 like ‘%Electricity%’ Or Muli3 like ‘%Electricity%’) Order By Rank desc

    ….which looks pretty good to me. That is the query I want.

    BUT!!!

    The next line in the logs is:

    CustomSerch – Exception Occurred: Value does not fall within the expected range.

    Is this the shortcoming with multivalued properties you are talking about?

    Any suggestions on what I can do? Any help would be much appreciated.

    Anthony

    Comment by anthonyk7 | October 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

